SAYING THINGS YOU WILL LATER REGRET__DEVOTION #5

“If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord.” ROMANS 12:18-19

Given this, you, my young Christian girls, are probably asking yourselves the following question:

Who in my life do I need to live at peace with?

As a Christian teenage girl, I had pondered this question time and time again, as I constantly thought and believed that it would be impossible to live in harmony with those around me each day. Living in manner when considering everyone around can be fraught with ongoing complications. There were times when things reached a boiling point, and I couldn’t take it any longer, I like you, would simply snap, saying things I would later regret. Which would too often leave us going through the thought process and wondering:

Why the heck did I say what I did in the manner I said it? This gets followed by the feeling of regret, because you probably didn’t mean it and the realization you had really hurt their feelings, and you repeatedly saying to yourself “I didn’t intend on doing this.”

The good news is, the Lord provides you with ways to live at peace with everyone in your life. He even says, “if it is possible,” because He knows you won’t be able to live at peace with everyone in your life at all times. He desires that you will be nice as possible to everyone and let the little things go that are upsetting you. If there should ever be something that needs to be discussed with someone else, you need to calmly try explaining how you feel what is happening. You should never ever seek revenge against anyone who wronged you because as young Christian teenage girls you need to remember what is written in ROMANS 12:19 [NKJV]:

“Beloved, do not avenge yourselves, but rather give place to wrath; for it is written, “Vengeance is Mine, I will repay,” says the Lord.”

You need to do your best to live in peace and harmony with everyone, even when it’s complicated. And if you should ever feel the urge to lose your cool, I would consider saying something like this to yourself:

“Please remind me Lord, that I need to live in peace with everyone regardless of the circumstances.”

Leave a comment